giving and offering help when needed is easy and extremely complicated at the same time. Friday, I arrived late for class because of a huge traffic jam and freaked out because I didn’t have time to prepare my class, let alone to have lunch. Thankfully, a colleague gave me a good idea that saved my class and gave me a chance to evaluate them orally as I was supposed to and created an opportunity for them to come up with their own review for their final test, which was set for after the break. I need to thank all of my colleagues for offering to calm me down when I needed it and for not doing it in an annoying way. Also, I really needed to put it out of my sistem because that was a tough group. Things ended up well, and I was really glad.
Today, correcting the texts, one of my students used the space to ask for help concerning a private matter: they are all privilleged children, with a very expensive roof over their heads and the best food on their plates, but like every teenager, they are lost when it comes to being caught in the turmoil of conjugal fights between parents. I don’t know for sure if this is real or not, but I’ll try to talk to the parents, just to let them know that this is happening. If it’s a lie, he’ll get a. 2 in that question (he didn’t answer the question, but at least used proper English), and if it is true, from the bottom of my heart I hope he gets the help he needs.

The bottom line is that you should always ask for help when you need it and don’t know how to make it better by yourself; or at least let people know that you are not ok. The ones who care will get the message and help you out the best way they can.

